Now privately owned, Christine’s Church of the Two Grandfathers is one of the few remaining timber churches in Australia in its original location. Steeped in 19th century history and now set in romantic gardens, 21st century facilities have been added to create a unique marriage and wedding venue.
From1896 this church served the local community of Rous as St. John the Evangelist Church of England, Diocese of Grafton, until the last service of the Church of England on 16 October 1988. In the twenty first century, this is a unique non-denominational church available for religious and non religious ceremonies.
In the 1850's the area of Rous Mill and Alstonville, in the Byron Bay hinterland, were timber logging districts for some of the finest red cedar and rosewood trees. It is these very precious trees that were used in the construction of this church in 1895. On 16th March 1896 the church was dedicated and described in the archives as a very pretty church and a model for future churches. It has been a favourite wedding venue since 1897.
In 2005 the church and the surrounding property was purchased by the current owners, Serendip Plantation. Since then the church has undergone extensive refurbishment and upgrading to present as a modern wedding venue while still retaining its original features and unique picturesque setting.
For the first time since the church was decommissioned the church also received a name - Christine's Church of the Two Grandfathers - and today the church and gardens are maintained by owner Christine and the team from Serendip Plantation.
Christine's Church of the Two Grandfather's was named by Christine's mother in memory of Christine's own father and father in law.